Sports Car Illustrated



Return to Home Page

Rosenqvist wins Berlin Formula E

Felix Rosenqvist handed Mahindra Racing an emotional first win at the revised Tempelhofring circuit.

Following the closest-ever qualifying session in the history of the FIA Formula E Championship,
Rosenqvist started from third. He moved up to second when Jose Maria Lopez made a slow start, before gradually reeling in early leader Lucas di Grassi.

Earlier in the day di Grassi had taken the Julius Baer pole position by the closest possible margin, out-pacing Lopez by just 0.001 seconds, while Rosenqvist in third was only 0.083 seconds off pole.

The ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport driver was struggling to manage the temperature of the battery
during the race, which as a result was making braking and regen harder and harder. Eventually
Rosenqvist was close enough to pull off a move, driving around the Brazilian through the long Turn 1.

Rosenqvist almost lost the position when he made a small error into Turn 9 on his in-lap before the mandatory car swap, but he re-joined in front and pulled away to establish a comfortable lead and take a win that delighted the team, after a wait of 28 races.

“It’s finally the day where we won the race!" Rosenqvist said "It feels like it’s been a long time coming even though it’s only my first season in Formula E. It’s been just around the whole year! Today everything just came together. I made a small error in qualifying which put us into P3 on the grid, otherwise I think it was pretty much a perfect day! The cars were fantastic. As a team, we came into this race a lot calmer. At this point in the season we’re settling down into a rhythm with our procedures and this week we just felt like winners already – I think that made a big difference. It didn’t feel strange to be up there on the top step, we’ve had three consecutive podiums and it’s so rewarding for all the guys that have worked so hard. Everyone says that, but I see the hours that they put in everyday and so this one goes to them!”

After failing to score last time out in Paris, di Grassi needed a big score this weekend. However, after the morning practice sessions he wasn’t too optimistic about his chances, but a stunning effort in qualifying not only earned him pole by the slenderest of possible margins, but three additional bonus points too.

Once Rosenqvist had established his lead over di Grassi, he knew the game was up and shifted his focus to ensuring he stayed ahead of Nick Heidfeld in third and gave the German fans who packed the grandstands plenty to cheer. With the post-race disqualification of championship-leader Sebastien Buemi due to his tyres being under pressure, di Grassi has now reduced the deficit in the title fight to just 22 points.

Di Grassi said: “Our car was not very good, we started the morning completely lost and then tried to make small set-up changes and I luckily did a very, very good lap in qualifying. If you look at the pure pace from the morning - this was not the best race for us, so I tried to hang on as much as I could. At the end of the first stint I started to lose the regen because of the battery temperature being too high and the same in the second stint too.”

For the third race in a row the second Mahindra driver, Nick Heidfeld, stood on the bottom step of the podium. Once again, he made a great start to move up the order, but in his first car he was struggling for pace, and rather than challenge the cars ahead he was fighting to keep away from the pack behind. Following the car swap his pace improved and in the closing stages he reduced the gap to di Grassi to just over a second, but at no point was he ever close enough to attempt a move.

“I am over the moon for the team and relatively happy for myself with another podium!" said Heidfield "I had another great start and gained a position going into turn one. In the second stint I had a lot better pace and could catch Lucas [di Grassi] but not quite overtake, so there are some mixed emotions. It is a big reward for the team. Also, I cannot complain about being on the podium! To top it all off we have another race tomorrow and it’s great to go into it knowing we have a good car. We need to keep calm and keep working hard, and hopefully get more of these results."

Lopez ran a relatively lonely race in fourth, but was pleased to continue his recent strong form and add to his points tally. Following his team-mate’s disqualification and Jean-Eric Vergne picking up a five-second time penalty for an unsafe release, Nico Prost maintained his record of scoring in every race this season by taking fifth, while Daniel Abt made an amazing start to gain places off the line, which he converted into a sixth-place finish.

Sam Bird lost out during the pitstop phase, and dropped from fifth to seventh for DS Virgin Racing, while after his penalty was applied Vergne was classified eighth. Venturi’s Maro Engel struggled to manage his energy but was pleased to pick up a couple of points for ninth, while the final point was ultimately awarded to NextEV NIO’s Oliver Turvey. Mitch Evans extended his run of points-scoring races for Panasonic Jaguar Racing to four by nabbing the bonus for the Visa fastest lap.

The teams only have a few hours to re-group before returning to Tempelhof Airport tomorrow
morning to do it all again for round eight of the 2016/17 FIA Formula E Championship. The pace of the Mahindra cars mark it out as the team to beat, so it will be fascinating to see how much their rivals are able to improve overnight.

Berlin ePrix (Rd 7) - Race results
1. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing, 53:19.661s (25)
2. Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, +2.232s (21)
3. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing, +4.058s (15)
4. Jose Maria Lopez, DS Virgin Racing, +13.638s (12)
5. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, +19.068s (10)
6. Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, +19.799s (8)
7. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, +20.065s (6)
8. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, +20.689s (4)
9. Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E, +39.030s (2)
10. Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO, +40.985s (1)
11. Stephane Sarrazin, TECHEETAH, +42.682s
12. Nelson Piquet Jr, NextEV NIO, +42.980s
13. Jerome D'Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, +45.712s
14. Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, +49.658s
15. Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, +59.010s
16. Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti Formula E, +1:00.269s
17. Robin Frijns, Andretti Formula E, +1:02.463s
18. Tom Dillmann, Venturi Formula E, +1:07.695s
19. Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, DNF (1)
20. Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams, DSQ

Driver standings
Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams - 132
Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport - 110
Nico Prost, Renault e.dams - 68
Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing - 65
Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing - 62
Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH - 44


More from Sports Car Illustrated



Search Sports Car Illustrated






Sports Car Illustrated is an on-line sports car magazine for sports car enthusiasts by sports car enthusiasts. Updated on a regular basis, Sports Car Illustrated on line sports car magazine brings you a look at the world of sports car from a grass roots perspective.

Home | Industry News | Sports Car Racing | | Formula One | Indy Car News | Historic-Vintage Racing | Auto Shows

Features | Links | About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with us

© Sports Car Illustrated Inc.

To submit press releases, articles, photographs or videos contact:

For information about our great advertising rates contact:

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved