Sports Car Illustrated



Return to Home Page

Herberth Motorsport Porsche takes Hankook 24H COTA USA

Herberth Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3 R No.911 driven by Daniel Allemann / Ralf Bohn / Robert Renauer / Alfred Renauer earned the top step on the podium by winning at the first-ever Hankook 24H COTA USA. Alfred Renauer drove the Porsche across the line after 609 laps around the Circuit of the Americas having pulled a gap of two laps over the second placed Black Falcon Mercedes-AMG GT3 No.3 of Ben Keating / Jeroen Bleekemolen / Abdulaziz Al Faisal / Luca Stolz. The Manthey Racing Porsche 991 GT3 R No.13 shared by Steve Smith / Randy Walls / Hari Proczyk / Dennis Olsen) made it two Porsches in the top three and secured an all-German top three in A6-Pro.

Allemann, Renauer, Renauer and Herberth Motorsport also claimed the inaugural Championship of the Continents despite its nearest rivals, the PROsport Performance Porsche 991 Cup No.85 of Charles Putman / Charles Espenlaub / Joe Foster, – taking victory in the 991 class. The Freem USA Porsche 991 Cup No.50 of Danny Stutterd / Sam Fillmore / Stephen Grove took the runners-up spot in-class on home soil, while the Slidesports Pallex Porsche 991 Cup No.47 of Dave Fairbrother / Nigel Armstrong / Graeme Mundy / Colin Paton) completed the 991 class podium.

The Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS No.34 of Johannes Dr. Kirchhoff / Gustav Edelhoff / Elmar Grimm / Ingo Vogler / Max Edelhoff took its first A6-Am victory of the season, 14 laps ahead of the V8 Racing Chevrolet Corvette C6-ZR1 No.18 of Luc Braams / Duncan Huisman / Alex van t'Hoff / Rick Abresch / Nicolas Vandierendonck that finished 2nd in-class, despite suffering suspension failure. The Leipert Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo No.10 of Harald Schlotter / Aleksander Schjerpen / John-Louis Jasper / Vic Rice / Niels Lagrange took the final step of the A6-Am podium, becoming Champions of the Continents for SPX in the process. Max Edelhoff could also celebrate becoming the first Rookie Champion of the Continents.

Car Collection Motorsport’s category win was particularly apt, given the fate of its sister cars. The No.33 Audi R8 LMS of Pierre Ehret / Stefan Aust / Christian Bollrath / Peter Schmidt / Dimitri Parhofer retired after its engine ignited on-track, while the Hofor-Racing powered by Car Collection Mercedes-AMG GT3 No.1 Michael Kroll / Chantal Kroll / Kenneth Heyer / Christiaan Frankenhout / Jörg Viebahn ended its race against the turn two barriers. Despite this, Chantal Kroll would still secure the Ladies Championship of the Continents.

The MARC Cars Australia MARC Mazda V8 No.214 of Malcolm Niall / Clint Harvey / Brett Niall / Robert Thomson led home a MARC 1-2-3 in SP2, crossing the chequered flag just two laps ahead of the sister No.210 entry of Jake Camilleri / Keith Kassulke / Morgan Haber / Hadrian Morrall and the VDS Racing Adventures MARC Focus V8 No.58 of Raphaël van der Straten / Thierry de Latre du Bosqueau / Joël Vanloocke / Tom van Rompuy / José Clos.

After a difficult start, the Brookspeed International Motorsport Porsche Cayman GT4 MR No.41 of David Pattison / Freddie Hunt / Alan Metni / Joseph Toussaint took a comfortable win in the SP3 class, Freddie Hunt – son of 1976 Formula 1 World Champion James – emerging victorious on his 24H SERIES powered by Hankook debut. The Aston Martin Lagonda Vantage GT8 No.232 of Andy Palmer / Peter Cate / Paul Hollywood / John Hindhaugh completed a successful series debut in 2nd, while the JR Motorsport BMW E90 No.118 of Ward Sluys / Pieter van Soelen / Ted van Vliet / Marco Poland finished off a strong charge in the top three.

The reigning 24H SERIES Touring Car Champions Team Altran Peugeot took its third TCR victory of the season with the Peugeot 308 Racing Cup No.308 of Guillaume Roman / Gonzalo Martin de Andres / Thierry Blaise / Marc Guillot. The result also crowned Guillaume Roman as the first Champion of the Continents for Touring Cars.

Team Altran Peugeot secured a 1-2 in-class with the sister No.908 entry of Stéphane Ventaja / Thierry Boyer / Michel Derue / François Riaux and was followed home by NKPP Racing by Bas Koeten Racing SEAT Leon TCR No.125, Gijs Bessem / Harry Hilders / Rob Rappange / Willem Meijer in 3rd place.

Aptly in an all-BMW CUP1 category, the US-based Classic BMW M235i Racing Cup No.158 of Mike Vess / Jason Hart / Matt Travis / John Capesstro-Dubets / Max Fedler took its first class win in the 24H SERIES powered by Hankook. Just three laps further back, the Sorg Rennsport BMW M235i Racing Cup No.151, Alexander W. Wetzlich / Simon Tibbett / Benito Tagle / Ray Mason / Quinten Nelson took 2nd place, while QSR Racingschool BMW M235i Racing Cup No.161, Rodrigue Gillion / Emilie Liljeström / Mckay Snow / Tommy Graberg / John Mauro completed the CUP1 podium.

The Team Eva Solo / Jönsson Consulting Peugeot RCZ No.171 of Jan Engelbrecht / Thomas Sørensen / Henrik Sørensen / Claus Bertelsen / Søren Jønsson brought a successful season to a close with class victory in A2, its third of the year. The reigning A2 class champions finished almost 60 laps ahead of the THRW Honda Racing Honda Civic Si No.183, Douglas Chan / Jeremy Lucas / Scott Nicol / Ryan Eversley, which had a troubled run to the flag. The sister Civic No.184 of Calvin Tam / Michael Tsay / Lawrence Hwang / Derek Ferretti secured a double podium for the local team on its series debut.

Race results





More from Sports Car Illustrated


Sports Car Illustrated is an on-line sports car magazine for sports car enthusiasts by sports car enthusiasts. Updated on a regular basis, Sports Car Illustrated on line sports car magazine brings you a look at the world of sports car from a grass roots perspective.

Home | Industry News | Sports Car Racing | | Formula One | Indy Car News | Historic-Vintage Racing | Auto Shows

Features | Links | About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with us

© Sports Car Illustrated Inc.

To submit press releases, articles, photographs or videos contact: info@illustrated

For information about our great advertising rates contact: sales@illustrated

Copyright © 2017 · All Rights Reserved